Hybrid View

Wrap recommendations

I am pretty new to baby wearing. Right now we are using a Boba Wrap, but I'm finding it kind of a pain. The wrap itself is way too long and I knot it in the front & back, and still have an extra tail of fabric. Also, my baby is very large and I'm not sure how long we can use the stretchy fabric.

So any recommendations for a similar wrap but something good for a big & growing baby? And what to do with this excessive amount of fabric?

Dear Callie,

I take it that you are using this type of Boba wrap i.e. a stretchy wrap? Many parents find a stretchy wrap such as this (the Moby, Karime and JPMM are very similar to this) excellent for a newborn baby. You can pre-tie the wrap and pop them in and out as necessary and even breastfeed in it.

I do understand what you mean about the wrap having a long tail though! I am petite and have always found the stretchy tail almost touches the floor! I would often tuck the excess fabric into my pocket if possible or thread it back into the sling.

In terms of the size/age of your baby, stretchy wraps are best until around 4/5 months of age. After this your baby will start to hang lower and lower because of the stretchy material and you may find the wrap uncomfortable.

You could try a woven wrap next like this. These are made but non-stretchy material and so can be used from newborn until age 3 or 4. They can be worn on the front (baby facing in is always best ergonomically) or back (ideal for toddlers). It tends to take parents a little longer to master how to wrap then how to use a stretchy wrap; but once you have learnt this you will find it very comfortable. You mostly wrap your baby into the wrap rather than pre-tieing it.