Hybrid View

Heartbeat irregularity for 2-year old boy?

My son was diagnosed with Sinus Tachycardia. The explanation the doctor gave was his heart was
    compensating with his activity and we should have nothing to worry about. He is 2 years old and plays a lot.

My husband was once told by the doctor that he has tachycardia but he took a medication that help to normalize his heartbeat. His heartbeat is okay now but some times he gets exhausted and he feels his heartbeat is racing.

My son did not have any medication. And also, we have history of asthma (my father's side), does sinus tachycardia somehow related to asthma? Is it hereditary? or what?

Inputs please. Thanks!

Hi proudmumof2boys,

I am not a doctor so I can only have limited knowledge on this. However, some of the patients I have seen in the audiology clinic were also seen in the cardiology unit so I have a little experience of cardiology.

My understanding is that, 'sinus tachycardia' itself is the normal rise in heart-rate which happens when we exercise or get stressed: see the explanation on this Heart Rhythm Disorders link. However, 'inappropriate sinus tachycardia' is where the symptoms of increased heart-rate, breathlessness and fatigue occur without any cause (i.e. when the person is just resting and not under stress). I don't believe it is related to asthma. Also, in a lot of cases this condition is only temporary.

If, as Laura Jane mentioned, Sinus Tachycardia is the normal rise in heart rate induced by exercise or stress, and the doctor's not concerned, then I wouldn't be concerned either. Sometimes having a diagnosis with the word "Tachycardia" can be scary, but if it's normal for activity or stress, then it shouldn't be anything to be concerned with, especially in a 2 year old. However, I have read that it can be mistaken for supro-ventricular tachycardia. Did the doctor do an echocardiogram or an EKG? Both of these are non-invasive and can give some good information about heart function.