Not enough milk in the afternoon?

I am wondering if it's possible that I do not make enough milk in the afternoon for my son. I'm a new mum and this is my first time breastfeeding. My bub takes three naps in his cot each day. For the third nap around 3 in the afternoon, I don't seem to make enough milk for him. (I breastfeed him to sleep for his naps). He gets so frustrated and cries and fusses until I make a bottle for him. Then he he falls to sleep. Could there be another reason for the difficulty around the third nap? Is there anything I can do to increase my milk at a specific time of day? Thanks for your advice!

Hi JerBearMum,

Usually milk supplies are lowest in the evning. I'm a little concerned that giving him a bottle at 3PM is only going to reduce your milk supply even more because he will not be stimulating the breast well during that feed.

There definitely are things you can do to increase your milk supply. Here's a good thread that offers lots of ideas on increasing breast milk supply.

Working with a Traditional Chinese Medicine practitioner can also be helpful, but it will be an added expense so you may want to try just putting baby to the breast more, drinking fenugreek tea or taking fenugreek capsules along with the other things mentioned in the above thread.

My guess is that you've been trying to feed baby solids (as you mentioned in another post) and you've been transitioning him to taking naps in his cot more than in your bed - plus you've started giving him a bottle at 3PM and all of those things combined means baby is spending less time at the breast. Less time at the breast equals reduced milk production.