Hybrid View

Using Childcare for toddlers

I will be sending my two and four year old to a childcare center for the first time next month. I'm really nervous about what to expect. I have never used childcare centers before due to my own experiences. The one I went to as a child caught on fire. It was a very traumatizing experience and I used to say I would never send my children to one. However, we have no choice at the moment. Do you have any suggestions on how I can overcome some of my fears and feel comfortable with leaving my children in the care of others?

Hi Nicole,

I was the Office Manager at a Preschool for 6 years, and after I resigned to stay home and raise my own children, I decided to become a licensed child care provider.

Having said that, I've got lots of tips to help you overcome your fears.

First of all, you need to feel ABSOLUTELY comfortable with your child care provider or center. You mentioned "center" so I'm going to focus on that.

You need to visit at least 3 child care centers. The Director or Office Manager or whomever is responsible for enrollments should offer to give you a tour of the ENTIRE facility (not just the rooms your children will be in). They need to explain what they teach and what the routines look like in each classroom. Your children will start in one room, but will likely move to another room as they get older, so it's important to feel comfortable with the entire center, and ESPECIALLY the Director. I can't express to you enough how important it is that you feel like you can talk to the Director about anything, and that she will listen and take action if there is a problem.