Hybrid View

Enough amount of breastmilk

Good day! I have been breastfeeding my baby for 7 months now. However, I am not sure if he's getting enough amount of milk from me. This is a concern for me because he has not gained his weight for two months now. How would I know if he's getting enough milk? Can you suggest any tip to increase my milk? Thanks!

Hi Venus,

The recommendation by the World Health Organisation and other healthcare professionals is to exclusively breastfeed your baby for the first six months (i.e. give them nothing but breast milk) and then to start to introduce solid food once they are six months old (and developmentally ready for this).

Can I ask if you have started to introduce solid food yet? Did you exclusively breastfeed for 6 months? Do you still breastfeed on demand (ie. whenever your baby wants milk - in the day and night)? Breast milk is produced on a supply and demand basis so you need to put your baby on the breast whenever they want milk in order for your body to keep producing enough milk.

You can always additionally express milk (with a breast pump) in order to increase your milk supply. Also, eating certain foods such as oats can increase milk supply.

We need to get to the bottom of why your baby is not putting on weight. Are you using baby led weaning or spoon fed weaning? With baby led weaning it is recommended that up to 12 months of age your baby is not hungry when they are offered food so you could offer him food around an hour after he has been breastfed. At 7 months of age your baby should be able to get over 95% of his nutrients from the breast milk as long as you are feeding on demand.

Do let me know the answers to these questions so we can help support you further.

Best wishes,

LJ
    Last edited by ljmarsden; 10th September 2012 at 10:48 PM.

Hi Venus,